Countries Ratified Paris Agreement

The Paris Agreement is an international climate change agreement that was adopted in 2015 by 196 countries. The agreement aims to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels, with a goal of limiting warming to 1.5 degrees Celsius. To achieve this goal, countries have pledged to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions and to periodically review and strengthen their climate targets.

As of June 2021, 191 countries have ratified the Paris Agreement, which means they have officially committed to its goals and are legally bound to uphold them. The remaining five countries have signed but not ratified the agreement. The United States, which originally signed the agreement in 2016, withdrew from it under the Trump administration but rejoined under the Biden administration in 2021.

The countries that have ratified the Paris Agreement include both developed and developing nations. Some of the largest emitters, such as China and the United States, are signatories to the agreement. Other countries that have ratified the agreement include India, Brazil, Japan, and the European Union member states.

Ratifying the Paris Agreement is a significant step for countries in addressing climate change and reducing their carbon footprint. However, ratification is just the beginning, as countries must follow through on their commitments and continually strive to reduce their carbon emissions. The periodic review process outlined in the agreement ensures that countries are held accountable for their climate targets and that they are regularly updated to reflect changing circumstances.

Overall, the ratification of the Paris Agreement by 191 countries demonstrates a global commitment to tackling climate change and working towards a more sustainable future. With continued effort and collaboration, there is hope for limiting global warming and mitigating its impacts on the planet and its inhabitants.